She’s a Comic Genius

Sam Panini
1 min readAug 25, 2023

I first watched Eddie Izzard “Dress to Kill” in a Southern country club fraternity house a couple years after it was filmed.

I remember being in a darkened room at 1am on a Saturday, probably slightly buzzed.

I was “transfixed”, I guess, by all of it: the premises, the set-ups, the punchlines, the narrative of world history, the satire, the obscure film trivia, the clever innuendo, and the physical humor.

It was one of the first DVDs of stand-up comedy I ever bought.

I ended up gifting the DVD to my brother-in-law, who watched it with my father-in-law and the entire did-he-or-didn’t-he-die-yes-or-no routine became a family in-joke.

Later, I got to see her live in Chicago.

After I learned Spanish, I bought DVDs of her doing the same show in like 3–4 different languages.

She is brilliant and a creative genius.

If you can get tickets, go.

You won’t regret it.

--

--